Cucumber Salad

IMG_6208

Over the years I feel like I’ve gotten the hang of dinner.  I’ve come a long way from the 5 pm, “What’s for dinner?”  With my answer, “I don’t know, what do you feel like?”  It’s no wonder we ate a lot of cereal for dinner when we first got married.  And DiGiorno Pizza, lol!  I do have fond memories of eating at the coffee table watching Friends.  Just the two of us.  Nowadays, we’re a family of 5.  And the baby stage is long behind us.  So while I’ve gotten the hang of planning meals, making the grocery list, and making dinner nightly, sometimes the veggies on the side were just plain boring.  Frozen peas anyone?

My friend Lois gave me this recipe.  I decreased the sugar of course!  And used half sugar/half coconut palm sugar.  (My kids like to make cinnamon-sugar toast for breakfast sometimes.  I mixed the coconut palm sugar into the sugar canister in an effort to feel better about this breakfast choice.)  This cucumber salad is tangy thanks to the vinegar and it goes really well with all kinds of teriyaki, Szechuan, stir-fry, or most types of asian dishes.

IMG_6209

Super quick and easy too!  Chop 4 cucumbers.  We have pretty small cucumbers here, so you may need less if yours are bigger.

IMG_6210

Mix up the sauce in a medium sized bowl.  Just rice vinegar, sweet chili sauce, and sugar.  That’s it.

IMG_6211

The original recipe called for 1/4 cup of sugar.  I did about a 1/8 cup.  Half Demerara sugar and half coconut palm sugar.

IMG_6213

Add the cucumbers and it’s all set.  You can make it ahead of time to let the flavors meld.

IMG_6217

Cucumber Salad

  • 3-4 medium cucumbers
  • 1/2 cup white or rice vinegar
  • 2-3 T sweet chili sauce
  • 1/8-1/4 cup sugar
  1. Slice the cucumbers in half, lengthwise.  Chop into half moon shapes, about 1/4 inch
  2. Mix together in a medium bowl the rice vinegar, sweet chili sauce, and sugar mixture (if you are using part or all coconut palm sugar.)
  3. Add the cucumbers to the vinegar mixture, stir, let sit for a few minutes before serving.
Leave a Reply

